This can make returning to important websites easier, but can also cause embarrassing or potentially dangerous situations. . This will prevent any personal information from falling into the wrong hands. Much like computers, a wiped Android hard drive is not actually completely erased, only set to be overwritten. If you're selling or giving away your phone, you'll want to wipe it before doing so. Once the phone has finished resetting, all of the data will be erased and the phone will act like it was turned on for the first time.
To create this article, 18 people, some anonymous, worked to edit and improve it over time. Backup any data you want to save. If you find yourself loaning your phone out to friends and family often, install an app locker program. This means that someone with enough time and the right software may be able to retrieve your data. This can take over an hour, and interrupting the process can corrupt your phone.
This article has also been viewed 808,830 times. If you're worried about someone looking at your history, or you are planning on selling or donating your Android device, see Step 1 below to learn how to clear your browser's history. Afterwards, the phone will begin the reset process, which may take a few minutes. The encryption process takes awhile, and you will need to have a full battery and your phone will need to be connected to a power source. To avoid this potential security risk, encrypt your phone before erasing everything.
It is now safe to sell or give away. Wiping your phone will delete all of the data on it, so make sure your contacts, media, and any other important data are backed up to another location. Use Incognito, or private browsing, mode. Much like a computer's web browser, your Android device's browser will keep a list of all the websites that you visit. This will let you restrict access to only the apps you allow when guests are using the phone. This is referred to as Incognito mode in Google Chrome, and Private Browsing in Firefox. A new private tab will open, with the mask logo signifying that you are in private mode.
This will prevent anyone from being able to access your data, even if it recovered with data recovery software. Any browsing done in a private window will not be logged by the browser. The incognito tab will be a darker color than a regular browsing tab. . . . .
. . . . .
. . . . . . .
. . . . . .
. . . . . . .
. . . . . .